What's new here?

About once a week we get an email that reads like this:

“I will like to order some of your products and I will want it shipped to our place as follows :

<shipping address redacted>
Therefore, i hope to hear from you soon regarding my inquiry and to know where i can view products you have presently in stock and if there is any special pricing i need to know about. Lastly regarding payment i will be sending you my USA Valid credit card to charge for my order to avoid delays but can you let me know the type of credit cards you accept?Can you work hand in hand with my client freight personal agent? so they can Pickup the products directly from your location down to my client address in <redacted>

I hope to hear from you as soon as possible.
Regards.

Fred

NOTE IN TERMS OF SHIPPING THAT CAN BE ARRANGED WITH THE RIGHT SHIPPING COMPANY AND PAPER WORK AND ONCE YOU CAN WORK WITH THE SHIPPING COMPANY PROVIDED ,SHIPMENT WILL GET TO OUR DOORSTEP IN NO TIME.

Of course, this makes us roll our eyes as yet another lazy scammer is trying to get our attention.

The meat of this is in the middle paragraph of course. Let’;s break it down:

“Therefore, i hope to hear from you soon regarding my inquiry and to know where i can view products you have presently in stock”

This is the part that pretty says “scammer”. Whoever they are they are too lazy to even look at our website. Not once is there any mention of any specific inventory that we carry.

and if there is any special pricing i need to know about.

’cause you know, if you are trying to con someone, you should at least be economical about it and get the best price.

Lastly regarding payment i will be sending you my USA Valid credit card to charge for my order to avoid delays but can you let me know the type of credit cards you accept?

This line, or a line very similar to it appears in almost all of these scammer’s emails (usually the wording is more like “do you please maybe accept CREDIT CARD?!”)  More proof that they have not even given a real glance at our website, or else they’d know what credit cards we take.

Any credit card they give will be fake, or more likely stolen. I used to try and fish these guys to get them to reveal their fake card numbers, but the credit card companies seemed so uninterested in rooting out problems like this and made it hard to do so that I stopped bother, although once I did get a call thanking me for following through.

Can you work hand in hand with my client freight personal agent? so they can Pickup the products directly from your location down to my client address in <redacted>

Ah, yes. Here were get to the meat of the theft. The card is fake, and they want their ‘personal’ freight agent (a local partner to the scammer) to pick up the items.  That way there is no paper trail or tracking when the items ship.  Joy.

These emails are incredibly clunky and sloppy, and yet someone must be falling for them because we keep getting them.

The joys of online retail.

www.spectrum-scientifics.com

Leave a Reply

